Think green

I’ll have to admit that I’ve been on the fence about global warming, but recent NASA photos of the disappearing Arctic ice are sobering.  Image

Now they tell us that while the Arctic ice is melting, Antarctica is expanding.  What can be made of that?  To be honest, I don’t know.  It looks to my untrained eye more like a potential polar shift. 

But whether air pollution is responsible for global warming or not, one thing is certain.  Semi trucks and unkept clunkers on the roads, smog belching industries, and dozens of other sources spew out distasteful black smoke that our noses tell us cannot be good.  Just drive by a coal plant or behind a vehicle pushing black soot into the air.

Where I live there are hundreds of wind farms producing usable energy without adding anything unpleasant to the atmosphere.  I’ve been to impressive dams where energy is produced cleanly by great passages of falling water.  I’ve read about Geo-thermal methods of producing the electricity we all depend on.  Many homes and public buildings now have solar panels that provide electricity enough to meet their needs with some left over to go into the national grid.  

I recently heard of a wealthy man who wanted to help clean up the atmosphere, so he went around buying up old clunker cars, taking them off the streets and roads.  Wow, that’s a great idea.  But I can’t do it.

Some people have their own wind turbine in their back yards.  Another great idea, but I can’t do it.

I wanted to be green, but how could I do it?  In Wikipedia I read about something called renewable energy certificates.  That sounded both interesting and very expensive.  I thought again, “but I can’t do it.”  Then one day a friend told me about a program that would allow me to become involved in renewable energy.  He explained that renewable energy is defined as energy that does not deplete (i.e. there will always be wind and the power of the sun). 

I don’t know how many possible resources are out there for people like me who want to help improve the planet (save the planet?), but I found mine.  For less than $20 a month I can purchase my REC and wake up every morning knowing that I’m doing my part.  My investment in clean energy sources may help eventually do away with the burning of fossil fuels to generate electricity.  I like to think so, anyway.

Leave a Reply

